Madcap's Excellent Rating.

reviews - 00'sOprettet af Jacob Pertou lør, november 24, 2012 18:49

GOLDMINE · JANUARY 18, 2008, page 30.

  • Kommentarer(0)//tangerinedream.pertou.dk/#post1421

Live in America 1992.

reviews - 00'sOprettet af Jacob Pertou lør, november 24, 2012 18:20

Keyboard, December 2004, page 24.

  • Kommentarer(2)//tangerinedream.pertou.dk/#post1420

My favourite TD-related albums of 2009

reviews - 00'sOprettet af Jacob Pertou søn, december 20, 2009 16:06

1. Picture Palace Music Natatorium (CD-R)
The "lost Tangerine Dream masterpiece" from keyboarder Thorsten Quaeschning and company. A tour-de-force from start to finish. Too perfect to be released on a DIY CD-R.

2. Tangerine Dream Vintage Vanguard (CD)
Tangerine Dream the Jerome Froese way. A stunning collection of outtakes, b-sides, instrumental Inferno and Purgatorio tracks, and more. The announced Dream Mixes 5 can't come soon enough.

3. Johannes Schmoelling A Thousand Times (CD)
An album that lives up to its title. Hard to shake off, and demands numerous listens. A central instrument is the grand piano. Sequencers are used when they have to. But it sounds like Johannes prefers to play whatever he can by hand. So there is a very personal touch to this album, and it includes intelligent hints to TD classics from the 80's.

4. Klaus Schulze La Vie Electronique 2 (3-CD)
With lesser equipment, Klaus Schulze was very creative back in the early seventies. Dark and heavy stuff performed on partly damaged equipment.

5. Klaus Schulze La Vie Electronique 1 (3-CD)
More of the same classic stuff, albeit recorded a bit earlier.

6. Picture Palace Music Curriculum Vitae I (CD)
Includes the mammoth ep Nostalgia, which was Thorsten Quaeschning's magnum opus prior to Natatorium.

7. Tangerine Dream The London Eye Concert 2008 (3-CD)

What a night. TD performs a wonderful set for three hours in front of the most enthusiastic audience I can remember. The download and dvd versions do not do this concert justice. It's the triple-cd you need.

8. Tangerine Dream plays Edgar Froese The Epsilon Journey (2-CD)
Now legendary one-off concert with Edgar Froese solo compositions, on a completely remixed new album. The keyword is 'Journey'.

9. Tangerine Dream Rocking Out The Bats (Download and DVD)
The download and the DVD have their respective advantages, but they both bring back memories of a very special Tangerine Dream concert. The DVD has some fine bonus material as well.

10. Jerome Froese The Speed Of Snow (CD EP)
17 minutes of pure euphony. So-called 'guitartronica'.

  • Kommentarer(0)//tangerinedream.pertou.dk/#post866

Booster III, The Epsilon Journey & Rocking Out The Bats

reviews - 00'sOprettet af Jacob Pertou lør, december 19, 2009 14:50

Third time lucky? I don’t think so. Tangerine Dream compilations is a bit of a jungle, since there are so many of them. The Booster series are worthwhile because they add new material and catch up on non-album tracks.
The third of them is probably my least favourite, because it’s so mellow. There are good tracks which more than justifies this release, like Mombasa, Astrophel And Stella (String Version), and in particular The Halloween Cast. On the other hand, I could do without Sound Of A Shell, and the overdubbed Remote Viewing. It has the three best tracks from Chandra - The Phantom Ferry Part 1, which probably makes me play that album even less.

Booster Vol. II is still the best of the lot, but Booster III is a good retrospective of 2008 and 2009.

This one is a curious one. It was released by popular demand by the fans on the TD FORUM, and already saw a release for the Christmas trade. That alone is very impressive, but more surprising was it that the sound has been completely remixed.
Originally an artsy-fartsy DVD of a live performance from Eindhoven in 2008, it included a lot of well-earned ovations.
That is all gone now. It's a bit weird, to be honest, but it emphasises the music as a unified whole, and what’ve got is like a completely new album. The loud lead guitar in One Night In Space has been streamlined to ‘gel’ more with the electronic setup, and the saxophone is not as dominant, either.
The keyword is ‘Journey’, and with this newly released CD, it’s probably easier to enjoy the fantastic portfolio of Edgar Froese compositions. A highly recommended release!

There’s something about Tangerine Dream DVD's that either distracts me from watching them – or even makes me fall asleep. Some of them have been poorly edited, especially in the sound mix where drums often have been completely lost. Other times computer graphics or slow motion sequences have been added, like they almost were there to hide some embarrassing details for the viewer.
And let's face it. Tangerine Dream use a lot of pre-programmed stuff, so to watch the keyboarders in action often gives the impression that they are only playing 10% of what we hear. That reduces the enjoyment of watching a show significantly.

When I play a Tangerine Dream DVD, I rarely sit and down and watch it. I usually do something else in the meantime, and occasionally look at the screen, if I hear a nice solo piece.
The dynamic sound from a DVD – or the fact that I maybe attended the concert – is why I keep buying these releases.

As usual I skipped to the bonus material at first. There are three little films that has a very intelligent twist. In of them, it seems like Linda Spa is impersonating Edgar Froese being interviewed, which is hilarious.

I did spot myself, my aunt and uncle several times on Rocking Out The Bats and found myself enjoying how convincingly the DVD was edited this time, and in particular, that they cranked up the twang guitar of Ayumi’s Loom, which was much too quiet in the download version.

Rocking Out The Bats brings back memories from a very special Tangerine Dream concert. I can recommend it to all who attended the show and to other fans, because the set list is very good, and the editing is much, much better than the previous and poorly edited London Eye Concert.

A signed mini ZOOM-O-GRAPHIC accompanied my order from Eastgate. Very nice!

  • Kommentarer(0)//tangerinedream.pertou.dk/#post865

'The Bootleg Box Set Volume 1'

reviews - 00'sOprettet af Jacob Pertou fre, december 18, 2009 20:50

  • Kommentarer(0)//tangerinedream.pertou.dk/#post857
Næste »